The aborigines that dominated this settlement, a region of complex tribes, were the black kinky-haired negritos or aetas. As early as the year 1745 an ethnic group was found by the Spanish Missionaries, this time the Gaddangs who were feared for their valor and courage. This tribe of Gaddangs was ruled by a chief name Gaddanan. A furious warrior and a protector of this tribe, Gaddanan captivated the respect of his followers, thereby implanting in their memory a name worthy of emulation. As a gesture of reverence and utmost respect and to perpetuate his name, the settlement was called ANGADANAN, a name somewhat associated with Gaddanan, the Gaddang chief.

About us/ Brief Profile

          As history had it, the rich folklores and legend handed down from generation to generation since its creation in the 17th century tell of another legendary figures of a strong man, Gavino Guiab, who possessed the power and strength that compared with the biblical figures – David and Samson – whose strength was unbelievable, yet true as chronicled in history, Gavino, as he was affectionately called, possesses the super strength of many men and could perform a feat that commanded the respect and admiration of his people.  He was able to bring a giant church bell up the belfry of the Catholic Church single-handed with a rope made of braided cogon grass. The people look upon him as a leader and protector from the invasion of enemies- the negritos and other mountain tribes  who  attempted  to  reclaim  the  land settled in by the peaceful, but   fearless  descendants  of  Adam  and  Eve.   In  a  fierce battle against the negrito  braves,  Gavino  stood his ground during the arrows and spears of the enemy, allow  the  invaders  that  came   on  the   way  resulting  in  the  victory    that   brought  absolute peace to the place. Powerful as the people were, they wanted to evade further attacks from their enemies, thus their leader chose to abandon the settlement – ANGADANAN VIEJO – and moved eastward toward mighty Cagayan River.

          The darkening shadows of the Spanish regime was in the offing. This situation did not at all create stalemate for there were tested leaders ready to take over the reign of governmental functions. One such leader was Don Jose de Tagle, and last Gobernadorcillo of Angadanan who move the seat of the Government to San Jose, settlement northeast and just along the vast expanse of the Cagayan River. To honor and give credence to its founder, the people named the new seat of the Municipal Government as SAN JOSE DE TAGLE. As the legend goes, the government was once more moved – this time and the last – to the old and present site baptizing it as CAMMUCAUAN which was that time a hunting ground where hunters used to wait for their quarry the whole night up to dawn stalking wild deer and wild pigs. To the new comer Cammucauan means hunting at dawn, San Jose de Tagle, the old site is now a lost paradise, its name inter wined among the dead, the site being burial place in the northeastern region of the town proper. Interwoven with the history of Angadanan Viejo (now Alicia), the town of Angadanan is rich with historical heritage, legend and tradition. Originally located in the site now occupied by the progressive town of Alicia. The Spanish town of Angadanan was officially created in October 1776 under the advocation of Nuestra Senora de Atocha de Angadanan.

          On the cultural aspect, the people adhere to baptismal practice and the tradition, the “BALIAWAN”, a wedding feast ritual, to mention a few. The ritual composed of unmarried boys and girls who join hands and, facing each other, sway merrily their feet and hands to the tune of an old ballad. Still joining their hands, the boy kiss the girl in front of him at a certain point during the ballad. The natives never forget the “dote”, a sort of gift to the bride in the form of money/ or real estate – as insurance for the newlyweds to start a new, stable life.

From the advent of the American regime up to the present the town was administered by the following in the order listed hereunder.

1Sr. Jose de Tagle Presidente Municipal 1911-1912
2Sr. Rafael Guiab Presidente Municipal 1912-1913
3Sr. Telesforo Fanio Presidente Municipal 1914-1915
4Sr. Pedro Lutao Presidente Municipal 1916-1917
5Sr. Filomeno Siquian Presidente Municipal 1918-1919
6Sr. Pedro Panganiban Presidente Municipal 1920-1921
7Sr. Salvador Ngarangad Presidente Municipal 1922-1923
8Sr. Rufino Mamauag Presidente Municipal 1924-1925
9Sr. Florentino Nicolas Presidente Municipal 1926-1927
10Sr. Lino Lopez Presidente Municipal 1928-1931 1940-1941
11Hon. Cosme dela Cruz Municipal Mayor 1932-1939
12Hon. Vitaliano Lopez Municipal Mayor 1942-1945
13Hon. Eduardo DomingoMunicipal Mayor 1946-1955
14Hon. Eugenio Guillermo Municipal Mayor 1956-1967
15Hon. Rogelio Siquian, Sr. Municipal Mayor 1968-1967
16Hon. Arsenio Aquino, Sr. Municipal Mayor 1969-1971
17Hon. Manuel Siquian Municipal Mayor 1972-1976
18Hon. Eugenio Guillermo Municipal Mayor 1956-1967
19Hon. Jacinto Ong Municipal Mayor 1980
20Hon. Fidel Alindada Municipal Mayor
21Hon. Manuel Gaffud Municipal Mayor 1986-1988
22Hon. Rogelio G. Siquian, Jr. Municipal Mayor 1988-1995
23Hon. Felicitas P. Ong Municipal Mayor 1995-2004
24Hon. Jose T. Panganiban, Jr. Municipal Mayor July 1, 2004 - June 30, 2010
25Hon. Lourdes S. Panganiban ( INCUMBENT ) July 1, 2010 to present